Lagos Assembly Confirms LASIEC Nominees

Nominees of governor Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos State for the board membership of the Lagos Independent Electoral Commission, LASIEC, have now been confirmed.

The four-member LASIEC board were confirmed by the Lagos State House of Assembly led by the Speaker, Mudashiru Obasa.

Lagos is already preparing to conduct election into its local government councils and one of the key things is the inauguration of its board members.

ALSO READ  Stanbic IBTC Upgrades Infrastructure of Lagos Primary School

The successfully screened nominees are Dr. Olubunmi Omosehindemi, Lateef Raji, Mrs Sekinat Famakinwa, and Aiyedun Olusegun Fasi.

The Clerk of the House was directed to communicate the confirmation to the governor through a letter.

Their confirmation came after lawmakers commended the nominees for their consistency and loyalty to their fatherland.

Dr. Omosehindemi was commended for his exploits in alternative medicine even as an orthodox medical doctor and for his role in fighting the past military government of Nigeria before the current civilian dispensation came into existence in 1999.

ALSO READ  Delta Speaker Congratulates Ogidi

Lateef Raji was also praised for being an activist who fought for the current democracy and for his performances under the last government as the Special Adviser on Information and Strategy.

The Speaker observed that all the nominees have done well in their various fields of endeavour and stressed that the House of Assembly does not doubt their ability to put in their best for the state in organising credible elections at the local government level.

Share This Post

Post Comment