Senate Confirms Appointment of Eight New Supreme Court Justices

The Senate on Tuesday approved and confirmed the appointments of eight Supreme Court justices nominated by President Muhammadu Buhari.

On Tuesday, September 29, 2020, the President had through a letter read by the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan asked the Senate to approve the appointment of the eight justices.

The President had said the appointments were based on the recommendations of the National Judicial Council.

Buhari had also said his action was “in pursuant to Section 231 (2) of the 1999 Constitution as amended and upon the advice of the National Judicial Council according to their ranking and seniority in the Court of Appeal.”

ALSO READ  ENDSARS: Lagos Denies Sponsoring Thugs Attack

The new Supreme Court justices are, Lawal Garba, (North West), Helen Ogunwumiju (South West), Abdu Aboki (North West), and M M Saulawa (North West).

Others are Adamu Jauro (North East), Samuel Oseji (South South), Tijani Abubakar (North East), and Emmanuel Agim (South South).

Senator Opeyemi Bamidele who presented the report of the Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters on the screening of the nominations of the eight justices commends the President for making these nominations as it was the first time a total of eight Justices were being nominated for confirmation at a single stretch.

ALSO READ  47 Die In Yobe Secondary School Blast, Scores Injured

The Deputy Senate President Ovie Omo-Agege also acknowledged that the nominated judges were all men of integrity, intellect and men who have added value to our jurisprudence, adding that he has no doubt that they will do well in Supreme Court.

Share This Post

Post Comment