Makinde Dissolves Cabinet, Retains SSG


The Governor of Oyo State, Seyi Makinde on Tuesday announced the dissolution of the state’s Executive Council.

Those affected include Chief of Staff (CoS) to the Governor, Bisi Ilaka and 17 Commissioners.

The Cabinet was constituted on August 14, 2019 following Makinde’s historic victory in the March 9, 2019 election.

The Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Taiwo Adisa, who announced the dissolution in a statement, indicated that Makinde announced the dissolution of the Executive Council after a meeting of the body on Tuesday, which lasted about five hours.

ALSO READ  N25m Fraud: EFCC Arraigns Ex-Ebonyi LG Coordinator

Adisa also stated that three council members were spared.

The Council members who were not affected include the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Head of Service (HOS) and the Director General of Due Process office.

According to the statement, Governor Makinde expressed the gratitude of the government and the people of Oyo State to the Council members and wished them well in their future endeavours.

ALSO READ  FIRS Seals Jimoh Ibrahim’s NICON Luxury Hotel

The governor equally praised the dedication to duty and the commitment of the council members to the cause of taking Oyo State from Poverty to Prosperity.

The statement said, “His Excellency, the Governor of Oyo State, ‘Seyi Makinde, announced the dissolution of the State Executive Council, with effect from Tuesday, June 29, 2021.

ALSO READ  Oyo State Begins Payment Of N116.5m Bursary To 233 Law School Students

“Governor Makinde, after a prolonged meeting of the Council, told members it was time to retool after two years.

“He therefore wished the ex-Commissioners the best in their future endeavours.”

Share This Post

Post Comment