Lagos Pledges To Pay New Minimum Wage to LASU, Others from October


The Lagos State Government on Tuesday has declared its commitment to paying staff of all State – owned tertiary institutions the new minimum wage and consequential adjustments with effect from October 2020.

This followed a meeting held with leaders of the staff unions in the institutions by officials of the state government to resolve the agitations for the implementation of the new minimum wage in Ikeja on Tuesday.

In a statement by the Special Adviser on Education to the Governor, Mr Tokunbo Wahab, the state government said the payment was part of its efforts to maintain peace on the campuses.

ALSO READ  Buhari Seeks Int’l Help To Fight Corruption

He said that the State Government took the decision to restore and sustain normalcy as all stakeholders collectively strive to ensure a guaranteed future for the students and institutions.

Wahab reiterated the Governor’s commitment towards education and workers welfare as top priority.

The tertiary institutions whose workers will benefit from the development are Lagos State University (LASU) Ojo, the Lagos State Polytechnic (LASPOTECH) Ikorodu, the Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education (ACOED) Ijanikin, the Michael Otedola College of Primary Education, Epe among others.

ALSO READ  Preparing Nigerian Youths For Future of Work, By Adeniyi Ogunfowoke

It will be recall that the staff unions of the institutions had on Monday protested the non-payment of N30,000 monthly minimum wage to their members and locked the gates to the instructions.

The Vice-Chancellor of LASU, Prof. Olanrewaju Fagbohun, SAN, was among top management staff of LASU not allowed into the campus by the protesting workers on Monday.

ALSO READ  How To Select Right Fragrance For Different Occasions

The staff unions involved are the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), the Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities (SSANU), the Non-Academic Staff Union (NASU) and, the National Association of Academic Technologists (NAAT).

Others are the Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics (ASUP), Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Polytechnics (SSANIP) and the College of Education Academic Staff Union (COEASU) among others.

Share This Post

Post Comment