Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez to Give Keynote at C40 World Mayors Summit

Representative Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez of New York, co-author of the Green New Deal framework, will join C40 Cities as a keynote speaker at the C40 World Mayors Summit this October 9-12 in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Through her advocacy for the proposed Green New Deal, Representative Ocasio-Cortez has been a vocal supporter for strong, ambitious, and inclusive climate action as a means of driving economic development and improving quality of life.

Led by Lord Mayor Frank Jensen of Copenhagen and C40 Chair and Mayor of Paris, Anne Hidalgo, more than 50 mayors will join elected officials, business executives, scientists, and citizens to commit to more ambitious climate action and showcase the innovative solutions creating healthier, more livable communities.

The urgency of the climate crisis has motivated young people to strike from school, inspired protestors to occupy roads and bridges in European cities, and awakened a global conversation about the social and economic benefits of climate action policies.

ALSO READ  Shams and OMNES Media Unveil An Influencers Platform With Huge Opportunities

Now, almost exactly one year after the release of the IPCC’s landmark report, the C40 World Mayors Summit will capitalize on the surging momentum of the climate action movement to outline a blueprint for modern urban life that can be replicated in cities across the globe.

In addition to the summit’s main program, local residents and summit attendees will have the opportunity to participate in “Live Like Tomorrow,” a citizen climate summit, and for the first time, C40 will convene business leaders at a Cities & Business Forum to discuss the role of the private sector in addressing the climate emergency.

ALSO READ  Top 5 African Safari Destinations For Unforgetable Getaway

Some of those expected to address the participants are Michael R. Bloomberg, C40 Board President; 108th Mayor of New York City Al Gore, Former Vice President of the United States of America; Anne Hidalgo, Mayor of Paris and C40 Chair; Frank Jensen, Lord Mayor of Copenhagen; Eric Garcetti, Mayor of Los Angeles; Adjei Sowah, Mayor of Accra; Takele Uma, Mayor of Addis Ababa; Soham El Wardini, Mayor of Dakar; Ekrem İmamoğlu, Mayor of Istanbul; Mike Sonko, Governor of Nairobi City County; Dr Mo Ibrahim, Chair of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation amongst many more.

Share This Post

Post Comment