GTBank–Lagos Principals Cup Season 9 Enters Group Stage

The 2018 edition of GTBank-sponsored Principals Cup football competition has entered the group stage with the draws held last Thursday at the Corporate Head Office of the bank in Lagos.

The season began on April 17, 2018 with zonal preliminaries which featured 594 Teams from 335 Schools in the male and female categories.

The competition is open to schools from the 6 educational districts in Lagos State with a total of 586 matches played during the zonal preliminaries with 1,448 goals scored.

Thirty-two of these teams – 16 each from the two categories qualified to take part in Thursday’s draws, which were monitored by officials of GTBank, Lagos State Principals Cup Planning Committee, Lagos State Ministries of Youth/Sports and Education amongst other stakeholders.

Organisers of the competition said the preliminaries start on Wednesday, June 6, and end on Monday, June 11, 2018.

ALSO READ  Nigerian Footballer Slumps, Dies In Malaysia

Matches will take place at 4 venues; Dairy Farm Senior Secondary School, Agege, King’s College, Lagos Island, St Finbarr’s College, Akoka and Ansar-Ud-Deen College, Isolo.

Winners and runners up from each group will progress to the Quarter Final stage of the competition.

Over the years, the GTBank-Lagos State Principals Cup has propelled the professional careers of several talented and now renowned players like Stephen Odey – who recently won the Swiss Cup with FC Zurich. Stephen captained his alma mata Dairy Farm Senior Secondary School, Agege to victory in the 2012 edition of the competition, Esther Adeboye, one of the Most Valuable Players in the 2014 Competition from State High School, Alimosho was part of the National Female U-17 Team, The Flamingoes which represented Nigeria at the FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup.

ALSO READ  Gunmen Attack Kano Pillars Players

Guaranty Trust Bank, a youth oriented brand, maintains the lead in providing support for education and sports to enable young boys and girls explore their talents and reach for their dreams. It is one of the few Nigerian financial institutions that have maintained a defined Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) strategy, most especially in sports education. The Bank actively supports in-classroom and out-of-classroom educational programmes, infrastructure development, students’ scholarship and teachers training across Africa.


Isale Eko Grammar School (2017 Champions) Government Senior College, Agege Ikotun Senior High School, Ikotun CMS Girls Senior Secondary School, Bariga
Wesley Girls Senior High School, Yaba Gbagada Senior Grammar School, Gbagada Girls Senior High School, Agege Ajeromi Ifelodun Senior High School, Ajegunle
Awori Senior College Ojo King Ado High School, Lagos Island Ijaiye Housing Estate Senior Secondary School, Ifako-Ijaiye Okemagba High School, Epe
Ijeshatedo Senior Grammar School Ilupeju Senior Secondary School, Ilupeju Obele Community Senior High School, Randle Elepe Community Senior High School, Ikorodu
ALSO READ  CHAN: Bring Trophy Home--Tambuwal Charges Eagles




Ikotun Senior High School Ijaiye Housing Estate Senior Grammer School, Ijaiye (2017 Champions) Ejigbo Senior Grammar School, Ejigbo Jubilee Senior Model College Orile Iganmu
Elepe Community Senior High School, Ikorodu Egan Senior Grammar School, Alimosho Baptist Senior High School, Obanikoro St Finbarr’s College, Akoka
Eko Boys High School, Mushin Estate Senior Grammar School, Mushin Dairy Farm Senior Secondary School, Agege Government College Ketu, Epe
Government Senior College, Eric Moore Ilado Community High School, Ikoyi Ajangbadi Senior High School, Ojo Kankon Senior  Secondary School, Badagry


Share This Post

Post Comment